10 Speed School Teams in State Volleyball Playoffs

posted in: News, Volleyball | 0

A total of 20 Desert Speed School athletes and their teams have qualified for the state volleyball playoffs, with four of those teams winning their Region Championships during the regular season. Two-time defending state champion Salpointe looks to three-peat, and enters the state playoffs as the 4A Kino Region champion and #3 team in state (4A). Empire took a big step forward for their program and won the 5A Sonoran Region, having just this year moved up from the 3A level. Meanwhile, both Tanque Verde and St. Augustine captured their region championships, winning the 3A Region and 2A South Region, respectively.

All told, Desert Speed School teams and athletes in the postseason include:

Region Champions

Salpointe (Jenna Johnson, Claire Dunn, Brandy Kishbaugh, Hiliana Mizner)

Tanque Verde (Jordyn Evans, Sarah Jacobs)

Empire (Sarah Lewis, Sophia Vera, Emily Brown)

St. Augustine (Anjolie Navarette, Arianna Navarette)

Playoff Qualifiers

Desert Christian (Annie Fennema)

Cienega (Gabby Lambert, Taylor Milbourn, Faith Young, Hailey Grenier)

Pusch Ridge (Delaney McGehee)

Mountain View (Destiny Pundt)

Rincon/UHS (Isabella Ducey)

Sabino (Leah McAdams)


(Photo credit: Andy Morales)